NJPW G1 Climax update – Tenzan officially replaces Kojima, full tournament match list

By James Caldwell, PWTorch assistant editor

NJPW Dominion matches announced
PHOTO CREDIT: Tokyo Sports


July 4 Update

Tenzan has officially replaced Satoshi Kojima in New Japan’s G1 Climax tournament.

New Japan set up an angle where Tenzan was upset about being excluded from the tournament, so his tag partner Kojima gifted him his spot in the A Block.

NJPW also announced all of the tournament matches running July 18 through August 14. [ Full Tournament List via PuroresuSpirit.net ]

June 27 Announcement

New Japan announced the G1 Climax tournament field Monday night during their latest show at Korakuen Hall in Tokyo.

The loaded A Block includes Tanahashi coming off an injury situation, NOAH’s ace Naomichi Marufuji, IWGP World Hvt. champion Kazuchika Okada, and former TNA X Division champion Sanada.

The B Block does not have quite the mega-star power, but the possibility of equally great matches. Included is NEVER Openweight champion Shibata, ROH star Michael Elgin for the second consecutive year, fan favorite Honma, Bullet Club’s Kenny Omega, Naito of L.I.J., Yuji Nagata, and Katsuhiko Nakajima from NOAH.

A Block

  • Togi Makabe
  • Tenzan (replacing Satoshi Kojima)
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Bad Luck Fale
  • Tama Tonga (debut)
  • Sanada (debut)
  • Naomichi Marufuji (NOAH)
  • IWGP World Hvt. champion Kazuchika Okada (2014 winner)
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi (2015 winner)

B Block

  • NEVER Openweight champion Shibata
  • Yuji Nagata
  • Honma
  • IWGP IC champion Michael Elgin (ROH)
  • Toru Yano
  • Naito (2013 winner)
  • EVIL (debut)
  • Kenny Omega (debut)
  • Katsuhiko Nakajima (NOAH) (debut)

[ READ MORE: Puroresu Spirit published a detailed break down of the interesting match-ups and connections in both blocks. ]

– New Japan also announced the headline matches for each night of the tournament. Included are major events such as Tanahashi vs. Marufuji on August 6.

Also, Okada vs. Marufuji on opening night July 18, Tanahashi vs. Okada deep into the tournament on August 12, Elgin vs. Omega on Aug. 10, and many more great match-ups.

Headline G1 Climax Matches

– July 18: Tanahashi vs. Sanada, Okada vs. Marufuji

– July 22: Nagata vs. Naito, Shibata vs. Honma

– July 23: Tanahashi vs. Makabe, Okada vs. Sanada

– July 24: Shibata vs. Nakajima, Honma vs. YOSHI-HASHI

– July 25: Makabe vs. Sanada, Okada vs. Goto

– July 27: Yano vs. Naito, Shibata vs. Elgin

– July 28: Ishii vs. Marufuji, Goto vs. Sanada

– July 30: Elgin vs. Omega, Naito vs. Shibata

– July 31: Makabe vs. Marufuji, Tanahashi vs. Goto

– Aug. 1: Nakajima vs. YOSHI-HASHI, Honma vs. Naito

– Aug. 3: Tanahashi vs. Ishii, Okada vs. Makabe

– Aug. 4: Nakajima vs. Naito, Shibata vs. Omega

– Aug. 6: Tanahashi vs. Marufuji, Okada vs. Ishii

– Aug. 7: Nagata vs. Omega, Naito vs. EVIL (L.I.J. Explodes)

– Aug. 8: Sanada vs. Ishii, Tanahashi vs. Kojima

– Aug. 10: Honma vs. Elgin, Shibata vs. Nagata

– Aug. 12: Goto vs. Marufuji, Tanahashi vs. Okada

– Aug. 13: Shibata vs. EVIL, Naito vs. Omega (L.I.J. vs. Bullet Club)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply