Review of Cena’s WrestleMania Streak ending

By James Caldwell, PWTorch assistant editor


It appears that John Cena’s own WrestleMania Streak will be coming to an end at this year’s event.

Cena will reportedly miss about six months with a shoulder injury, removing him from the Road to WrestleMania 32 in Texas.

Cena has not missed a WrestleMania since the very first WrestleMania he was part of – WMXX at Madison Square Garden in New York City where he won the U.S. Title from Big Show. That was nearly 12 years ago in 2004.

The last Mania that Cena was not part of was WM19 in 2003. Cena was in the Smackdown mix, but he did not make the card. WM19 was the end of an era for “Stone Cold” Steve Austin, who had his unofficial retirement match against The Rock.

Cena then won the U.S. Title at WM20 before winning the WWE Title at WM21 in Los Angeles to begin a new era with Cena on top.

Cena at WrestleMania Through the Years

– WM20 (2004) – Won U.S. Title from Big Show at MSG in NYC

– WM21 (2005) – Won WWE Title from JBL at Staples Center in Los Angeles

– WM22 (2006) – Beat Triple H to retain WWE Title at Allstate Arena in Chicago

– WM23 (2007) – Beat Shawn Michaels to retain WWE Title at Ford Field in Detroit

– WM24 (2008) – Lost to Randy Orton and Triple H in WWE Title match at Citrus Bowl in Orlando

– WM25 (2009) – Beat Edge and Big Show to win WWE Hvt. Title at Reliant Stadium in Houston

– WM26 (2010) – Won WWE Title from Batista at Univ. of Phoenix Stadium in Arizona

– WM27 (2011) – Lost to The Miz for the WWE Title at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta

– WM28 (2012) – Lost to The Rock in the “Once in a Lifetime” match at Sun Life Stadium in Miami

– WM29 (2013) – Beat The Rock for the WWE Title in the re-match at MetLife Stadium in New York/New Jersey

– WM30 (2014) – Beat Bray Wyatt at the Superdome in New Orleans

– WM31 (2015) – Won U.S. Title from Rusev at Levi’s Stadium in California

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply