New Japan announces replacements for Young Bucks in BOSJ tournament; updated A & B Blocks

By James Caldwell, PWTorch assistant editor

NJPW Dominion matches announced
PHOTO CREDIT: Tokyo Sports


New Japan Pro Wrestling has decided on the “emergency pinch-hitters” for the injured Young Bucks Matt & Jackson in the annual Best of the Super Jrs. tournament that begins this weekend.

David Finlay, the son of Fit Finlay, will replace Matt Jackson in the A Block. Also, honorary Bullet Club member Chase Owens will replace Nick Jackson in the B Block, NJPW announced.

Owens was scheduled for the CWE promotion’s big tour of Canada that also starts this weekend. PWTorch reached out to CWE for comment on Owens’s status. CWE has booked former CWE champion A.J. Sanchez as Owens’s replacement, returning to the promotion for the first time in two years.

New Japan’s tournament kicks off Saturday night in Tokyo with Finlay now inserted into the tournament opener against Rocky Romero.

The main event of Saturday’s show is IWGP Jr. Hvt. champion KUSHIDA vs. Kyle O’Reilly in a re-match of last year’s BOSJ tournament finals.

The 2016 BOSJ tournament runs Saturday (May 21) through Tuesday, June 7. The following are the updated BOSJ tournament blocks.

A Block

  • IWGP Jr. Hvt. champion KUSHIDA
  • Ryusuke Taguchi
  • Kyle O’Reilly (ROH)
  • Matt Sydal (ROH – debut)
  • David Finlay (replacing Matt Jackson)
  • Rocky Romero
  • Gedo (CHAOS)
  • BUSHI (L.I.J.)

B Block

  • Jushin Liger
  • Tiger Mask IV
  • Bobby Fish (ROH TV champion)
  • Trent Baretta
  • Chase Owens (replacing Nick Jackson)
  • Ricochet
  • Volador, Jr.
  • Will Ospreay (debut)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply