Smackdown Tag Titles – who won the tournament to determine first champs?

By James Caldwell, PWTorch assistant editor

Heath Slater & Rhyno are the first Smackdown tag champions.

Slater & Rhyno defeated The Usos in the finals of the Tag Title tournament Sunday night at the Backlash PPV.

Earlier in the show, the Usos beat the Hype Bros. to qualify for the finals against Slater & Rhyno.


  • American Alpha scratched vs. Heath Slater & Rhyno
    • Slater & Rhyno beat The Usos to win the Tag Titles
      • The Usos beat the Hype Bros. in a “second chance” match

Semi-Final Round

  • American Alpha beat The Usos
  • Heath Slater & Rhyno beat Hype Bros.

First Round Results

  • The Usos beat The Ascension (8/23)
  • American Alpha beat Tyler Breeze & Fandango (8/23)
  • Hype Bros. beat The Vaudevillains (8/30)
  • Heath Slater & Rhyno beat The Headbangers (8/30)


Tag Team Entrants

  • The Usos (Jimmy & Jey Uso)
  • American Alpha (Jason Jordan & Chad Gable) – out via injury angle
  • Tyler Breeze & Fandango
  • The Ascension (Konnor & Viktor)
  • Hype Bros. (Zack Ryder & Mojo Rawley)
  • The Vaudevillains (Aiden English & Simon Gotch)
  • Heath Slater & Rhyno
  • The Headbangers

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.