G1 Climax 28 participants and blocks revealed, White and Page set to debut in tourament, Ibushi and Omega headline the B block

By Sean Radican, PWTorch Columnist

WADE KELLER PODCAST - Royal Rumble preview with Sam Roberts
(Search "wade keller" to subscribe in podcast app or CLICK HERE to subscribe in Apple Podcasts.)

NJPW has announced the participants and blocks for G1 Climax 28, which is set to begin on July 14 and conclude with three nights at Budokan Hall on Aug. 10-12. The top matches for each block are going to be revealed tomorrow. The most notable match in both blocks is Kenny Omega vs. Kota Ibushi, who are both in the B block and will face each other. NJPW has done a good job of planting the seeds for tension between the two and that will likely continue to play out during the tournament, although for now they are together as The Golden Lovers tag team and in The Golden Elite faction with The Young Bucks.

The A Block’s biggest potential match appears to be Kazuchika Okada and Hiroshi Tanahashi, who last faced off with Okada beating Tanahashi to break his record of consecutive IWGP World Hvt. Championship title defenses. He then lost his title to Kenny Omega earlier this month at Dominion.

There are no outsiders in the tournament this year, but Jay White and Hangman Page will be making their G1 Climax debuts in the tournament.

The wrestlers in each block are as follows:


  • Michael Elgin
  • Togi Makabe
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Jay White
  • Bad Luck Fale
  • Hangman Page
  • Minoru Suzuki
  • EVIL


  • Kota Ibushi
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Toru Yano
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Tama Tonga
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Kenny Omega
  • Juice Robinson

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.